2018 List of New Water towers in Kenya per county

List of New Water towers in Kenya per county: Gazetted in 2018 for environmental conservation



The Kenya Water Towers Agency through CS  Keriako Tobiko has listed 70 new water towers to  prevent  logging  and Encroachment  and ensure that forests are protected . The list of new towers gazetted in 2018 will top the existing ones which include; The Aberdare Ranges, The Mau Forest Complex, Mt. Kenya, Cherengany Hills, Mt.Elgon, Kirisia Hills, Marmanet Forest,    Mount Kipipiri, Mount Kulal, Nyambene Hills, Ndotos, Huri Hills, Loita Hills, Mathews Range and Mount Marsabit. Find below the list of new ones.

2018 List of New Water towers in Kenya per county
2018 List of New Water towers in Kenya per county/Photo


List of New Water towers in Kenya per county


Kajiado County Water towers

  1. Ngong Hills
  2. Namanga Hills
  3. Emali Hills
  4. Maparasha Hills

Migori/Homabay Counties Water towers

  • Gwassi Hills

Elgeyo Marakwet County Water towers

  • Kaptagat Hills

Turkana County Water towers

  1. Loima Hills
  2. Karasuk Hills

Meru County Water towers

  1. Imenti Hills
  2. Ngaya Hills

Laikipia County Water towers

  • Mkogodo Hills

Nyamira County Water towers

  1. Manga Hills
  2. Sironga Wetland

Nyeri County Water towers

  1. Karima Hills
  2. Tumutumu Hills
  3. Kiamacheru Hills
  4. Nyara Hills
  5. Nyeri Hills

Taita Taveta Water towers

  1. Taita Hills
  2. Kasigau Hills
  3. Maungu Hills

Kili­fi County Water towers

  • Mwang’ea Hills

Nyandarua County Water towers

  1. Ol Donyo Orok
  2. Nguruman Escarpment

Machakos County Water towers

  1. Machakos Hills
  2. Kibauni Hills
  3. Kanzalu Hills
  4. Matetani Hills
  5. Iveti Hills
  6. Oldonyo Sabuk

Makueni County Water towers

  1. Makuli Hills
  2. Mbooni Hills
  3. Nthanga Hills
  4. Kilungu Hills
  5. Mbui Nzau Hills
  6. Yekanga Hills
  7. Nzueni Hills
  8. Makongo Hills

Kitui County Water towers

  1. Mutito Hills
  2. Kavonge/Museve Hills
  3. Mutuluni Hills
  4. Mumoni/Ngaikuyu Hills
  5. Kyawea Hills
  6. Endau Hills
  7. Mutha Hills
  8. Nuu Hills

Baringo County Water towers

  • Tugen Hills

Nakuru County Water towers

  • Subukia Escarpment

Kiambu County Water towers

  • Kikuyu Escarpment

Narok County Water towers

  • Mt Suswa

Uasin Gishu County Water towers

  1. Leseru Swamp
  2. Sergoit/Crownland

Embu County Water towers

  1. Kirimiri Hills
  2. Kiang’ombe Hills

Kisii County Water towers

  1. Nyangweta Hills
  2. Sameta Hills
  3. Taracha Hills
  4. Nyacheki Hills

Nandi County Water towers

  1. Kibirong Swamp
  2. Kingwal Swamp

Lamu County Water towers

  • Lake Kenyatta

Samburu County Water towers

  • Mt Nyiro

West Pokot County Water towers

  1. Chebuko/Kamelegon
  1. Kamelei/Chesuko Hills

Migori County Water towers

  1. Maeta Hills
  2. Magaimuya Hills
  3. Taragwiti Hills

Kenya Water Towers Agency Contacts

  • Office Location: NHIF BUILDING,
  • Telelephone number: 020-2711437, Ext.1725
  • Email: info@kwta.go.ke
  • Website: www.kwta.go.ke


Do not miss all our updates on environmental conversation  and new water towers in kenya

Follow us on Twitter: @kenyayote1 or Facebook: @kenyayote

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *