List of New Cabinet Secretaries named by President Uhuru Kenyatta, 2018

President Uhuru Kenyatta has named a list of new cabinet secretaries that will serve in his last regime.  The cabinet secretaries listed below were appointed/named today (5th January 2018) in his state of the nation address.  They will serve in the respective  government ministries. (We have updated the new list of full cabinet secretaries named on Junaury 26th  2018).


List of New Cabinet Secretaries named by President Uhuru Kenyatta, 2018

List of New Cabinet Secretaries appointed/named by President Uhuru Kenyatta, 2018/Photo


List of New Cabinet Secretaries named by President Uhuru Kenyatta, 2018 (Updated 26th January)

  1. CS Treasury-Henry Rotich
  2. CS Tourism-Najib Balala
  3. CS Transport & Infrastructure-James Macharia
  4. CS  Interior Security- Fred Matiang’i
  5. CS ICT-Joe Mucheru
  6. CS Energy-Charle Keter
  7. CS Lands – CS Farida Karoney
  8. CS Sports and Heritage – Rashid Mohammed
  9. CS Education – Amina Mohammed
  10. CS Petroleum and Mining – John Munyes
  11. CS Health – Cecily Kariuki
  12. CS Youth – Margaret Kobia
  13. CS Foreign Affairs and International Trade – Monica Juma
  14. CS Water and Sanitation – Simon Cherugui
  15. CS Environment – Keriako Tobiko
  16. CS Industrialization – Aden Mohammed
  17. CS Devolution-Eugene Wamalwa
  18. CS Defence-Rachael Omamo
  19. CS Agriculture-Mwangi Kiunjuri
  20. CS EAC and Northern Corridor Devt- Peter Munya

Cabinet Ministers turned ambassadors

  • Dan Kazungu – Tanzania
  • Jacob Kaimenyi – UNESCO in Paris
  • Phylis Kandie – Belgium and Luxembourg
  • Kiema Kilonzo – Uganda
  • Judy Wakhungu – France
  • Hassan Wario – Austria
  • Cleopha Mailu – Permanent Rep to UN in Geneva
  • Willy Bett – India

Surprise appointments

  • PS Devolution-Nelson Marwa
  • Ababu Namwamba – Chief Administrative Officer Foreign Affairs


UPDATED: January 26th 2018

More information about president Uhuru Kenyatta speech today

  • President Kenyatta appoints John Munyes, Okur Yatani and Keriako Tobiko to the Cabinet subject to vetting and approval by Parliament
  • Director of Criminal Investigations Ndegwa Muhoro, Deputy Inspector General of police, Joel Mboya Kitili and Deputy Inspector General Administration Police Service forwarded to Public Service Commission for redeployment
  • State House Comptroller Lawrence Lenayapa nominated as Kenya’s Ambassador to the Netherlands
  • George Kinoti (DCI)
  • Edward Njoroge MBugua (Deputy IG Kenya Police)
  • Gabow Noor (Deputy IG AP) in acting capacity until processed by Public Service Commission
You can also read  Tuskys Signs Deal to Rescue Nakumatt

Do not miss all our latest updates on the cabinet secretaries retained by president uhuru Kenyatta for his last term and other appointed state officials.

Looking for CBC Schemes of work, all grades, for New Curriculum? Check:
Do you need to revise for KCSE 2018? 2017 KCSE Past Papers with oficial Answers now available: More Details
  • You need an instant unsecured soft loan via mpesa?: Check our Loan Page Here
  • Looking for High School Teaching and Revision Notes? Check: High School Notes
  • Sell your Digital products like ebooks online in Kenya at:
  • Learn how to start and make money through blogging in kenya: Making Money Through Blogging in Kenya
  • Advertisements