ODM party Nyamira county nominations results winner, primaries

Nyamira County ODM nominations results, 2017: Primaries Winners

ODM 18th April 2017 party primaries  results of winners and losers:The Orange Democratic Movement  (ODM) nominations went down in Nyamira County, Taita Taveta County and Kajiado County. The Most hotly contested seat in the primaries was Governor position in Nyamira county which had  Dr. James Gesami and the incumbent Governor John Nyagarama.


ODM party Nyamira county nominations results winner, primaries
ODM party Nyamira county nominations results winner, primaries/Photo

Nyamira County has 4 constituencies ( Borabu Constituency,Kitutu Masaba Constituency,North Mugirango Constituency, and West Mugirango Constituency) and is perceived to be an ODM stronghold according to the 2013 presidential elections results where Raila Odinga received votes overwhelmingly.

The exercise of ODM  nominations in Nyamira county  begun  a little late  in what the party claims to be attributed to technical hitches. Some polling stations attracted some commotions from voters who agitated because of being asked to use ODM cards for voting instead of their IDs cards only.
In some poling stations, names of voters  were missing in the ODM membership resister and they had to resort to using the independent electoral boundaries commission  (IEBC) voters register. We will update the winners and losers once the process is done.

Nyamira County ODM nomination  result of Gubernatorial potion
As earlier indicated this position had two contestants Dr. James Gesami and the incumbent Governor John Nyagarama.

Results of ODM primaries in Governor position in Nyamira County

  • Governor John Nyagarama: 17487 votes
  • Dr. James Gesami: 12126 votes
  • Kumenda: 936 votes

Nyagarama declared winner.

Senator ODM candidate

  • Erick Omogeni-unopposed

Women Rep ODM candidate

  • Alice Chae-Unopposed

North Mugirango constituency ODM candidate

  • Charles Geni-Unopposed

Kitutu masaba constituency ODM candidate

  • Timothy Bosire-Unopposed

West Mugirango ODM nomination Aspirants (winner to be updated)

  • Peter Nyagonchonga Omboga
  • Julius Kimwomi Matere
  • Dennis Anyoka Moturi
  • Polycarp Barake Orero


[irp posts=”22006″ name=”IEBC latest News: 2017 General Election Preparedness, Timelines”]

Do not miss all our latest updates on  ODM party nominations results ans winners and dates of county primaries.

Follow us on Twitter: @kenyayote1 or Facebook: @kenyayote

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *